|
H.J. KLOSTERMAN CHEMISTRY
LIBRARY
LOCATION: 209 Ladd Hall
PHONE: 701-231-8293
HOURS
For Chemistry Library hours, current month,
go to the PALS online catatog.
In file CAT, type: "hrs chem". For hours of another month, for example
March, type: "hrs 03 chem".
You may also use WebPals.
Click "Display Library Information", then click "Submit", then click
"Other" and type "chem" at "Enter Branch Symbol" and click "Submit".
CIRCULATION POLICIES
All NDSU and Tri-College students, faculty
and staff with a valid university I.D. may borrow materials from
the Chemistsry Library. Other patrons may apply for special permits
at the Circulation Desk, Main Library.
Books: Four weeks for students, extended
loans for faculty, staff, and graduate students. All books are subject
to recall after two weeks.
Periodicals: Seven day circulation to
faculty and graduate students.
Reference: In-library use.
Reserves: In-library use.
LIBRARY MATERIALS
Books: The
book collection contains nearly 7000 volumes which are shelved on
the first 3 ranges and the east wall of the first study carrel.
They are arranged by Library of Congress call numbers. Access to
these materials is through the online catalog.
Periodicals: The Chemistry Library currently
subscribes to 189 serials and periodicals. They are arranged by
Dewey Decimal call numbers. Check the Tri-College Union List
of Serials or the online catalog to determine which journals
are located at the Chemistry Library. Volumes of chemistry journals
older than 1973 are at the Main Library. Volumes from 1973-1977
are in Dunbar Hall storage (please ask for assistance). Volumes
from 1978 to present are shelved in the Chemistry Library. A self-serve
photocopier is available.
Reserves: Reserve materials are usually
designated for in-library use only. Instructors may stipulate longer
circulation periods. Ask at the desk for reserve materials.
Microforms: Many older periodicals are
available only on microfiche. This is indicated in the Union List
of serials or the online catalog. Microfiche is stored at the Main
Library. Paper copies of articles on microfiche can be made using
the microfiche reader/printer in the Main Library. There is a charge
for these copies.
Theses: Chemistry theses are shelved
separately in the copy room. They are arranged by year and then
alphabetically by the author's last name.
Reference: The approximately 2,940 volume
reference collection is located next to the circulation desk and
is non-circulating. See THE
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF INFORMATION RESOURCES FOR CHEMISTRY AND POLYMERS
& COATINGS.
New Material: New journals and books
are displayed near the desk.
NOTE: PLEASE DO NOT RESHELVE
BOOKS OR JOURNALS. The Library keeps Use Statistics which help determine
which Journal Subscriptions to continue, and which Books to keep.
When you are finished using material, please place it on the marked
shelf near the new material.
Indexes: The indexes held by the Chemistry
Library include:
- Analytical Abstracts, Ref. QD 71 A49
- Beilstein, Ref. QD 251 B4
- Chemical Abstracts, Ref. QD 1 A51
- Gmelin, Storage Reference QD 151 G52
- World Surface Coatings Abstracts, Reference
Z 7914 P15 R48 (through January 1995)
- CA Surveyor (Polymer Coatings and Adhesives),
CD-ROM in Reserve Cabinet
TRI-COLLEGE LIBRARIES COOPERATION
The NDSU picture ID may be used at Moorhead State
University and Concordia College libraries to check out materials.
Students and faculty must abide by the regulations of the lending
library.
ONLINE CATALOG
As a member of the Tri-College, the NDSU Libraries
participates in MSUS/PALS (Minnesota State University System/ Project
for Automated Library Services). The online catalog contains the
library holdings of NDSU, Moorhead State, and Concordia, as well
as those of other state universities and colleges in Minnesota.
The online catalog can also be used to search the holdings of many
other libraries. Instruction sheets are located by the online catalog
terminal, or ask the Library Staff for help.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICES
Items not owned by NDSU may be obtained
through regional and national interlibrary loan networks. Request
cards are available near the online catalog. The completed cards
may be left at the desk or turned in at the Interlibrary Loan Office
at the Main Library. Requests may be made electronically at http://www.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/ill/ill-periodical.php.
All materials must be picked up at the Main Library.
REFERENCE AND INFORMATION
The library staff will be happy to assist
you in locating information. Feel free to stop at the desk for assistance.
Contact the Physical
Sciences Librarian (231-1050) for an appointment if there are
special reference questions, including online searches using STN
or DIALOG. Costs for STN or DIALOG searches must be paid by the
patron.
CHEMISTRY LIBRARY STAFF
Manager:
Heather Heger. Phone: 701-231-8293.
Supervisor: Jeremy Brown, Physical Sciences Librarian. Phone:
701-231-1050.
Go back to NDSU LIBRARIES
PHYSICAL SCIENCES PAGE
|
Last Updated: March 11, 2008