| General Information
Welcome to NDSU Libraries
In addition to the Main Library (located at the corner
of 12th Avenue North and Albrecht Boulevard) there are also three
branch libraries: Architecture (114 Ehly Hall), Chemistry (209 Ladd
Hall), and Pharmacy (135 Sudro).
If you need assistance in using any of the collections
or services of the NDSU Libraries, please ask at the Reference Desk.
In addition to this handout, there are several other information
sheets you may find useful.
Collections
NDSU Libraries house a wide variety of materials.
In addition to books and journals, there are also special collections
of government documents, local publications, videos, etc. Books
are located on the second floor of the Main Library, arranged by
Library of Congress Classification schedule (for example, call numbers
begin with letters). Magazines and journals are shelved in the basement
by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme (i.e., call numbers begin
with numbers):however, due to flood damage they are shelved in the
following ways:
1.
Current periodicals are shelved in the corridor of the main
library.
2.
Older journals are in storage and unavailable for public
use.
3.
The library is making many of our journals available in
electronic format. Check the web and/or the
online catalog for
any that might interest you.
4. NDSU students, faculty, and staff
may request other needed articles through interlibrary loan.
Some statistics are:
|
Total Bound Volumes:
|
506,444
|
Government Documents:
|
404,354
|
|
Current Periodicals:
|
122,498
|
Maps:
|
88,581
|
Library Hours
NDSU Libraries are open 92 hours per week during the
regular academic year. For a current listing of the Libraries' hours,
use the HRS command in the online catalog. At the prompt type HRS
and a current listing will appear. From the Libraries" home
page (www.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/), under Information, select
Calendar for a monthly
listing of the Libraries' hours. A taped message is also available
by dialing 231-8876.
Online Catalog
The NDSU Libraries online catalog (PALS) is a powerful
research tool. It is your key to finding the information you need.
In addition to providing access to the books, journals, audiovisuals,
and other materials held in our collection, the online catalog can
also be used to search the catalogs of Moorhead State University,
Concordia College, or any of the over 80 libraries in the MSUS/PALS
(Minnesota University System/Project for Automated Library Services)
system. Nearly 5 million items can be searched by a variety of approaches.
Furthermore, the online catalog has gateways to other libraries
and networks in North Dakota and other states. In addition, the
online catalog provides access to a number of reference databases
(periodical indexes and directory information) such as Expanded
Academic Index, Business Index, Company Profiles, etc. These databases
index over 3500 magazines and journals and provide full text articles
from 1300 of those titles. The catalog is accessible via the Internet
or via modem over the telephone.
Circulation
You must have your picture ID to check out library
materials. Undergraduates: Books circulate for 28 days; periodicals
do not circulate. Graduate students: Books circulate for 120 days;
periodicals for 5 days. Faculty/staff: Books circulate for 180 days;
periodicals for 5 days.
Reserves
Reserve collections are located at the Circulation/Reserves
Desk at the entrance to the Main Library. The Architecture, Chemistry,
and Pharmacy Libraries also have reserve collections. Reserves are
checked out for short or limited loan periods determined by the
course instructor, e.g., two-hours, overnight, or three days.
Interlibrary Loan Services
If the NDSU Libraries don't own the book or periodical
you need, the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service will obtain a copy
from another source. There is usually no charge for this service.
To request an item, fill out an interlibrary loan form at the ILL
office in the Main Library or use the online ILL form on the web
at www.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/ill/.
Library Instruction Services
NDSU Libraries offer a number of library instruction
services including: general tours and orientations, course-related
instruction in specific subject areas, demonstrations of special
services and information formats such as database searching, assistance
in developing appropriate library assignments, seminars on special
topics such as reprint file management, end-user searching, etc.;
and a one-credit course: Introduction to Library Research (LS 121).
Ask at the Reference Desk for more information.
Computer Assisted Bibliographic Searching
Computer searches are available to students, faculty,
and other researchers by contacting your appropriate Subject Librarian
or calling the Reference Desk (231-8886). Over 400 databases are
available on a cost-recovery basis. AGRICOLA, Sociofile, Current
Contents, MEDLINE, and PsycLIT are available for CD-ROM searching
at no-charge.
Telefax Service
Telefax services are available in the Main Library
at reasonable fees. Ask at Interlibrary Loan for details.
Photocopying Services
Photocopy machines are located in numerous locations
in the Main Library and the Branch Libraries; copies cost $.10 per
page.
Important Telephone Numbers
|
NDSU Libraries Home Page
|
http://www.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu
|
|
Reference
|
231-8886
|
|
Interlibrary Loan
|
231-8885
|
|
Circulation
|
231-8888
|
|
Departmental Libraries
|
|
Architecture (Arch. Bldg.)
|
231-8616
|
|
Chemistry (209 Ladd Hall)
|
231-8293
|
|
Pharmacy (135 Sudro
Hall)
|
231-7748
|
|
Institute for Regional Studies
|
231-8914
|
|
Telefax Machine
|
231-7138
|
|
Information Tape
|
231-9456
|
|
Last Updated: March 11, 2008