Institute for Regional Studies >> Biography & Genealogy >> 1885 Dakota Territory Census Database
Name:
Nativity:
County:

          Order Copies

The database includes only the counties in northern Dakota Territory (present-day North Dakota).
This 1885 Dakota Territory census index contains over 150,000 names.


Consult the Institute information page for the scope and content of the records and for ordering copies.

Searching Tips for the Dakota Territory 1885 Census Database

First and Last Name
    The first and last names are in the same field in this database. Although the census enumerator usually recorded last names accurately, complete and accurate first names are less certain. Many times only an initial is recorded rather than a complete first name, and unfamiliar foreign names were given American versions.

    We suggest initial searches be done for only the last name. You can truncate (shorten) to consecutive letters about which you are certain. Entering "Lee" will not only give you persons with the last name of Lee, but also Brownlee, Boutilleel, and Almlee. It will also search the first name and find the names, for example, of Caralee Actel and Robert Lee Allison. If searching for a common last name, adding the place of birth or county of residence will help.

    If you enter both the first and last name, it must be in the following format (including the comma): "Smith, James" (without the quotes). This search will not give entries where the census taker only recorded "J. Smith". Entering "James Smith" or "Smith James" without the separating comma, will give you no results.

Nativity and County Residence
    You can also limit your search by adding, if known, the country or state of birth, or the Dakota Territory county of residence. For countries, enter the complete name; for states you must enter a postal abbreviation. Remember, if a person was born in what is now North or South Dakota, the entry will read "Dakota" only.

To contact the Institute by means other than e-mail, please see the information below.
Mailing Address:
Institute for Regional Studies
NDSU Libraries
PO Box 5599
Fargo, ND 58105-5599
Hours:
Monday-Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm (academic year)
Monday-Friday 7:30 am to 4:00 pm (summer)
Wednesday 8:00 am to 8:00 pm (academic year)

Phone:
701-231-8914

Fax:
701-231-5632

E-Mail:
archives@www.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu

Physical Location:
Skills & Technology Training Center, Rm 117
1305 19th Ave N.
Fargo

Search NDSU Webpages Back to NDSU Homepage


archives@www.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu

701-231-8914
Published by the Institute for Regional Studies, NDSU
Last Updated: 7/18/2003