Home    News    Trial Databases
 Employment Opportunities    Exhibits    New Titles    Trial Databases

Trial Databases

NDSU Libraries provides trial access to a number of electronic resources.  Please let us know what your experiences are with these products.  Send comments to your subject librarian or to the NDSU Libraries help desk.  Your feedback is important to us so we can provide services that truly meet your needs.   Databases currently available to NDSU students, faculty, and staff include:

ABI/INFORM
The NDSU Library now subscribes to the ABI/INFORM database from ProQuest.

ABI/INFORM indexes and abstracts significant articles from more than 1300 business and management periodicals. Over 350 of the titles indexed are published outside the United States. Bibliographic citations and 25-150 word abstracts of articles are included with backfiles available for most periodicals back to 1971. The full text for more than 600 of the most popular and important sources is also included. Full text for some of these journals is available from January 1991 forward. As of September 1999, nearly 1.8 million records are in the database.

ABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of accounting, administration, management, finance, human resources, international business affairs, business law, marketing, real estate, taxation, business conditions and trends, product information, company histories, competitive intelligence, and other aspects of business. ABI/INFORM should also be of interest to researchers in the following subjects: computer science, economics, engineering, communications, health care administration, public administration, international affairs, and transportation.

INSPEC
Our newest SilverPlatter database at NDSU in the INSPEC database. INSPEC contains citations, with abstracts, to worldwide literature in physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computing, control, and information technology. Primary coverage is of journal articles and papers presented at conferences, although significant books, technical reports, and dissertations are also included. The INSPEC database is the electronic equivalent of three printed abstracting journals: Physics Abstracts, Electrical and Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. The database contains more than 6.2 million records covering the period from 1969 to the present, and currently indexes more than 4,200 journals and more than 2,000 conferences. Over 300,000 abstracts are added to INSPEC each year. Access the INSPEC via WinSPIRS, MacSPIRS, or WebSPIRS through March of 2001.

Beilstein Crossfire
The Beilstein CrossFire database database contains extensive information on over 7 million organic substances covered in chemical literature from 1778 to the present.  The database is the most complete collection of structures, properties, and reactions with references to the literature in organic chemistry.  Using the database requires a client.  Follow the directions for downloading the Beilstein Commander client software at the secure WWW page: http://dp3.lib.ndsu.nodak.edu/beilstein .

The Libraries
North Dakota State University
[P.O. Box 5599]
1201 Albrecht Blvd.
Fargo, ND 58105-5599

tel - 701.231.8876 | 701.231.6128 - fax
library director   Pamela Drayson
site design         WL Gardner
Click to visit the NDSU website Click to visit the NDSU website