Electronic Books and Texts

From The NDSU Libraries

Access a wide range of research, reference and reading materials online. Note that access to some of these resources is restricted to the NDSU community. For help or more information, ask at the Reference Desk (231-8886).

NetLibrary

Note: After 15 minutes of inactivity when viewing a book, NetLibrary will end your session. To prevent being locked out when finished, click "Close Item", located next to the book's title.

NetLibrary eBook of the Month

Provides online access to over 10,00 fulltext searchable eBooks covering a wide range of scholarly, academic and general interest areas (classic fiction, business, careers, computer science, information technology, reference, and how-to books). A useful feature allows you to search every word in every eBook, as well as search within a particular eBook.  Plus, each netLibrary eBook is embedded with The American Heritage™ Dictionary of the English Language, 4th ed.

All NetLibrary books can be located through the NDSU online catalog.

Watch the animated NetLibrary demo, covering topics from creating an account to checking out an eBook.

Safari eBooks

Note: This resource is only available to one user at a time, please be considerate!

Provides online access to approximately 100 technical books from various publishers available full-text in a searchable format. Most books are about computer science or programming languages.

ASAE Technical Library

The ASAE Technical Library provides the full text of all ASAE monographs, textbooks, and proceedings published since 2001. Full text (1999-present) of over 5,000 agricultural engineering publications from the Society for Engineering in Agricultural, Food, and Biological Systems (ASAE) as well as selected other agricultural engineering associations are included.

National Academy Press (NAP)

Provides online access to over 2,000 scholarly science books. NAP was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.

All NAP books can be located through the NDSU NDSU online library catalog.

Dissertations & Theses (NDSU)

A digital library (hosted by UMI) of dissertations and theses originating from NDSU.

College Source Online

Access to 18,608 college catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format.

Electric Library

Aggregator database providing access to a number of electronic books, encyclopedias, maps, transcripts, magazines, etc. Of especial use is access to the World Book Encyclopedia.

 

 

Sources of Free Electronic Books

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century - New York Public Library
Alchemy Virtual Library
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts - English literature, American literature, and Western philosophy
American Classical League - classic text repositories
American Verse Project (Univ. of Michigan) - American poetry prior to 1920
Anthology of Middle English Literature 1350-1485 (Anniina Jokinen)
Antique Books - reproductions of antiquarian books
The Arabian Nights - also includes The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam
Association des Bibliophiles Universels - Public Domain French texts
ATHENA - multilingual works in philosophy, science, classics, literature, history, economics, etc.
Avalon Project at the Yale Law School - documents in law, history and diplomacy
Banned Books Online
Bartleby Verse: American and English Poetry 1250-1920
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online (Bartleby Project)
Berkeley Digital Library Project - botanical, zoological, and geographical documents pertaining to California
Bible Gateway - various editions of the Bible in nine languages
Bibliomania: The Network Library - classic world literature and important reference texts
British Women Romantic Poets Project
Bulfinch's Mythology
Catholic Encyclopedia - 1913 Edition
California Digital Library's eScholarship Editions - over 400 publicly available scholarly books
CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts (University College Cork)
Chateau - classic french literature
Christian Classics Ethereal Library (Wheaton College)
Classic Short Stories
Computer and Internet Related Online Books
Computer Book Links (Virtual Computer Library, UT Austin)
Digital Books About Books (Oak Knoll Press)
Digital Scriptorium Test Database - visual union catalog of medieval manuscripts
Documenting the American South - diaries, autobiographies, narratives, and other resources
Early Manuscripts at Oxford University
Eldritch Press
Electronic Text Center - Digital Library at the Alderman Library, University of Virginia
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature - in western European languages
English Literature - 16th Century Renaissance 1425-1603 (Anniina Jokinen)
English Literature - Early 17th Century 1603-1660 (Anniina Jokinen)
ERIC/AE Full Text Internet Library - books, articles, and other documents relating to education
Eserver Books Collection
Eserver Drama Collection
Eserver Fiction Collection
Eserver Philosophy Collection
Eserver Poetry Collection
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Gallica: 19th Century France (Bibliothèque Nationale de France)
Great Books Index
Herbal Medicine Texts
Historical Text Archive
Hoover Institution Books Online
Humanities Text Initiative
InformIT
Internet Classics Archive
Internet Public Library
Internet Public Library Online Texts (University of Michigan) - more than 13,000 titles
Internet Sacred Text Archive - significant primary texts relating to religion, mythology, and folklore
Islamic Texts and Resources MetaPage
ITKnowledge.com - information technology books from major publishers
Japanese Text Initiative (University of Virginia/University of Pittsburgh)
Judaism Reading List (Ohio State)
Latin Bookcase (Georgetown)
Library of Congress Greek and Latin Classics Internet Resources
Making of America (University of Michigan) - 1,600 books with 19th century imprints on American history
Manybooks.net - Thousands of free eBooks formatted for reading on your PDA (Palm, PocketPC, Zaurus, Rocketbook, or Symbian cellphone)
McGraw-Hill bet@books - selected emerging technology titles
Medieval Studies Online Reference Book (ORB) (Rhodes College)
Middle English Collection (University of Virginia)
MIT Classics
Modern English Collection - AD 1500-present (University of Virginia)
Mountain Men and the Fur Trade - books, letters and other archival material
Naked Word - free books and more
National Diet Library - Electronic Library Project - Japan
Noesis - philosophical texts and reference works
On-line Books Initiative
On-Line Books Page - more than 11,000 volumes
On-line Children's Stories (Calgary)
Oxford Text Archive
PastMasters - Philosophy Full-text Databases
Perseus Project - Texts - ancient Greek and Latin texts; Papyri; Christopher Marlowe, and others.
Philosophy Text Collection (Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy)
Poetry Index of Canonical Verse (U of WA)
Project Gutenberg - since 1971
Project Libellus (University of Washington) - a collection of classical Latin and Greek texts
Project Runeberg - classic Nordic literature and art
RAND Online Publications
The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam - also includes The Arabian Nights
Shakespeare Resources (University of Virginia)
Short Story Search - short stories and other short works
Smithsonian Institution Libraries - Digital Collections
Soil and Health Library - alternative agriculture and alternative health
Southwest Electronic Text Center (University of Arizona) - Arizona history
Southwestern Classics Online (Lone Star Junction) - Texas history
Spunk Library - archive of anarchist and alternative texts
SunSITE Digital Collections (University of California at Berkeley)
Technical Reports Online (University of Maryland Libraries) - technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports from hundreds of organizations
U.S. Army Center of Military History - Online Books
Universal Library Project - a variety collection
University of California Press - Electronic Editions: Books
University of Chicago - Online Texts
University of Nebraska Press E-Editions
World Literature - from the world's major authors
Wright American Fiction - attempts to include every novel published in the United States from 1851 to 1875.


Book Publishers

American University Presses
Directory of Publishers and Vendors (AcqWeb)
Publishers' Home Pages - United States
Publishers' Home Pages - World Wide